Why Aren’t People Freaking Out About iBeacon? | Cult of Mac

Among these improvements is that Apple has cancelled an element of user permission. Once you’ve installed a store’s app — say, for example, Apple’s own Apple store app — that store can put messages on your lock screen even if the app isn’t running!

In the past, iBeacon was opt-in. Now, it’s opt-out. In the previous system, iBeacon-enabled stores, stadiums and museus were required to ask permission of the user for iBeacon access to their phones. Now, they no longer need that permission. Apple has already granted permission to the stores to access your iPhone.

Why Aren’t People Freaking Out About iBeacon? | Cult of Mac.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *